History collection

2017 Teaching Award Winner in History

Laurier’s History department has long been recognized for excellence in teaching, and ranks consistently above most other Faculty of Arts departments in student course evaluations. Our most recent recipients of teaching awards have been Associate Professor David Smith and Associate Professor Gavin Brockett in 2015, and Professor Alicia McKenzie and Associate Professor Kevin Spooner in 2016.

This year Instructor Debra Nash-Chambers, a social historian specializing on families and the law in 20th-century Canada, was awarded the Sustained Excellence in Teaching award, having been nominated by students in the History departments at both the Waterloo and Brantford campuses, the North American Studies Program at the Waterloo campus, and Brantford’s Criminology program. In the words of the selection committee, this award recognizes her “enthusiastic commitment to community-engaged pedagogy and the development of community service-learning courses that promote high-impact teaching practices, … encouraging student achievement through mentoring and experiential learning opportunities....”

Nash-Chambers noted that “The award is tremendously gratifying because the nomination was initiated by my students. It confirms that my students value our shared educational experiences as much as I value teaching and mentoring them.”