Skip to main content

Faculty and Staff

Faculty

Jennifer Baltzer
Professor
Canada Research Chair in Forests and Global Change

Christian Danve M. Castroverde
Assistant Professor

Mihai Costea
Professor
Curator of the Laurier Herbarium

Joseph Culp
Environment and Climate Change Canada Research Scientist in Residence

Douglas Deutschman
Professor

Stephanie DeWitte-Orr
Associate Professor, Health Sciences and Biology

Derek Gray
Associate Professor

Erin Leonard
Assistant Professor

Tristan A.F. Long
Associate Professor

Deborah MacLatchy
President and Vice-Chancellor
Professor

Allison McDonald
Professor

Jim McGeer
Professor

Gabriel Moreno-Hagelsieb
Professor

Kelly Munkittrick
Adjunct Professor

Jonathan Newman
Professor
Vice-President: Research

Scott M. Ramsay
Associate Professor
Undergraduate Academic Advisor*

Robin Slawson
Professor

Matthew Smith
Professor
Chair, Department of Biology

John Smith
Adjunct Professor

Kevin Stevens
Associate Professor
Director, Laurier Institute for Water Science

Frances Stewart
Assistant Professor
Canada Research Chair in Northern Wildlife Biology

Heidi Swanson
Associate Professor
Jarislowsky Chair in Sustainable Water Futures 

Joel Weadge
Associate Professor

Michael P. Wilkie
Professor
Graduate Program Officer

Jonathan Mark Wilson
Associate Professor

Zhongwei Zou
Assistant Professor

Contract Teaching Faculty 

Rob Boulianne
Instructor
rboulianne@wlu.ca

Marcia Chaudet
Instructor
mchaudet@wlu.ca

Cristina Gheorghiu
Instructor, Adjunct Professor
cgheorghiu@wlu.ca

Sobia Iqbal
Instructor
siqbal@wlu.ca

Kyra Jones
Instructor
kjones@wlu.ca

Renuka Karunagoda
Instructor
rkarunagoda@wlu.ca

Lauren MacDonald 
Instructor 

Anthony Straus
Biology Technician, Instructor
astraus@wlu.ca

Sanduni Talagala
Instructor
stalagala@wlu.ca

Cory Wallace
Instructor
cwallace@wlu.ca

 

Postdocs and Research Associates

Raquel Alfaro Sanchez
Visiting Researcher
ralfarosanchez@wlu.ca

Mehdi Moslemi Aqdam
Postdoctoral Fellow
maqdam@wlu.ca

Maria Belke-Brea
Postdoctoral Fellow
mbelkebrea@wlu.ca

Hugo Flavio
Postdoctoral Fellow
hflavio@wlu.ca

Heather Hager
Research Associate
hhager@wlu.ca

Andrea Lister
Postdoctoral Fellow
alister@wlu.ca

Brian Lowrance
Research Associate
lowr1530@mylaurier.ca

Wasan Mudher
Visiting Professor
wmudher@wlu.ca

Kirsten Nikel
Research Associate
knikel@wlu.ca

Rashid Shah
Research Associate
shah3850@mylaurier.ca 

Ana Sniderhan
Postdoctoral Fellow
asniderhan@wlu.ca

Andy Turko
aturko@wlu.ca

Cross-Appointed Faculty

Philip Marsh
Professor, Geography

Noam Miller
Assistant Professor, Psychology

Richelle Monaghan
Professor, Health Studies

David White
Associate Professor, Psychology

Retired Faculty

Jane Rutherford
Associate Professor

Professors Emeriti

Frédérique Guinel
Professor Emeritus

Administrative Staff

Victoria Marshall
Administrative Assistant

Merab Mushfiq (on leave)
Administrative Assistant

Kelly Kuepfer-Crane
Senior Administrative Assistant

Lab and Technical Staff

Chris Bartlett
Biology Technician
Cell, Molecular, and Microbial Biology

Chelsea Blinn
Lab/Tutorial Coordinator

Caroline Culshaw
Biology Technician
Plant and Animal, Anatomy and Physiology

Andrea Lister
Research Coordinator

Fengshan Ma
Laboratory/Tutorial Coordinator
Plant Ecology

Emily McConnell
Biology Technician
Cell, Molecular and Microbial Biology

Nicholas Pokorny
Laboratory Coordinator
Cell, Molecular and Microbial Biology

Thomas Singer
Laboratory Coordinator
Animal Biology, Physiology and Toxicology

Anthony Straus
Biology Technician, Instructor
Animal Biology, Physiology and Toxicology

IDEA in Biology

Learn more and find resources about issues surrounding Inclusion, Diversity, Equity and Accessibility (IDEA) in STEM and Biology.