Skip to main content

Scholarships and Awards

Visit Laurier's Scholarships and Bursaries page for university-wide scholarship and bursary information.

Grades-Based Awards

Campbell/Verduyn Prize for Film

Granted to a full-time Film Studies major entering Year 2 with the highest academic standing.

Hugh MacLachlan Scholarship

Granted to students who have graduated from the honours English program and are enrolled in graduate studies in English.

Jim Cark Prize in Drama

Full-time honours English majors entering Year 2 or 3 with a minimum cumulative GPA of 10.0 and demonstrated interest in drama through course work or participation in a dramatic production.

Barbara Parker Memorial Scholarship

Awarded to students who have completed EN324: Canadian Women's Writing with continuing registration at Laurier.

Flora Roy Scholarships

Awarded to full-time honours English majors with the highest GPAs entering Years 2, 3 and 4.

Paul Tiessen Scholarship in Film

Granted to a full-time senior undergraduate student who has completed Year 3 of the honours or combined honours BA in Film Studies with the highest cumulative GPA in all Film Studies courses. In the case of two or more candidates presenting the same GPA, the scholarship will be granted to the candidate who has the highest cumulative GPA in all completed courses.

Writing Awards

Chris Heard Memorial Writing Prize

Granted to the undergraduate student in Year 3 or 4 of any program who is judged by the Department of English and Film Studies to have submitted an original piece of prose writing (fiction or nonfiction) of less than 2,000 words that most demonstrates command of the language, ingenuity and originality. Submissions must be made directly to the chair of the department by email with a request to be considered for the Chris Heard Memorial Writing Prize.

Weldon and Misser Prize in Poetry

Eligible candidates will be full-time undergraduate students in Year 2, 3 or 4 of the honours English program who have a minimum GPA of 9.0 (B+) in Laurier English courses. Candidates will be judges on essays written on the subject of poetry as part of their senior coursework in Years 2, 3, or 4 (the nominated essay can be from the current or previous academic year). Essays will be nominated for consideration by course instructors to the chair of the department for consideration.

Submission deadline: March 15.

Financial Needs-Based Awards

An application and budget are required for each of the awards listed below. Applications are completed through LORIS. Application deadlines are mid-October.

Margaret Fulton Award

Granted to full-time English majors in Year 2 or 3 with a minimum cumulative GPA of 10.0 (A-).

Lennard Family Award in Honours English

Granted to full-time English majors in Year 3 or 4 who have a minimum cumulative GPA of 9.00 (B+)

Gerald A. Noonan Memorial Bursary

Granted to full-time English majors in Years 2, 3 or 4 who have strongly demonstrated interest in Canadian literature and creative writing who have high academic standing.

George and Agnes Roy Award

Granted to a full-time combined honours Communication Studies and Film Studies major with the highest cumulative GPA at the end of third year (minimum 9.0/B+).

Other Awards

Jerry D. Young Bursary Fund

Full-time undergraduate students registered in the English program; satisfactory academic achievement; Canadian citizen, permanent resident (landed immigrant) or protected person; long-term resident of Ontario; proven financial need.