Skip to main content

Awards and Funding

The university has numerous opportunities for both undergraduate and graduate students looking to secure funding for future academic studies. Funding is available through both academic achievement or financial need. Students who are interested in learning about these opportunities should review the information provided by the Students Awards Office which oversees the administration of all financial opportunities on behalf of the university.

Additionally, the university offers a program designed to assist students with money management while at university. "Dollars and Sense" is designed to help decrease financial stress and increase financial wellness.

Russell Investments Canada Award in Financial Mathematics

Eligible candidates will have completed first, second or third year of an honours program in Financial Mathematics, will have a minimum cumulative GPA of 9.0 and will be actively involved in promoting mathematics on campus as, for example, a math tutor, a teaching assistant, a mentor, or a member of a mathematics club.

The recipient must be a Canadian citizen, permanent resident (landed immigrant) or protected person; a long term resident of Ontario; and an individual who can demonstrate financial need.

The Elizabeth Wang Scholarship

Endowed by Elizabeth Wang’s generous donation, this scholarship is presented annually to the student entering Second Year of an Honours Mathematics program who has achieved the highest overall standing in MA103 (or MA110), MA121, and MA122 taken in the previous year, with an overall GPA of at least 9.00 in a minimum of five credits in that year.

The Ken McDowell Scholarship

This award has been established in memory of Kenneth P. McDowell, a leading member of the Mathematics Department from 1974 until his death in 1988. It is presented annually to the student entering the fourth year of an honours mathematics program who has achieved the highest grade point average on at least 2.5 credits in senior mathematics taken in the previous year, with an overall GPA of at least 9.00 in a minimum of five credits in that year.

The Sims Scholarship in Science and Technology

Granted to full-time undergraduate students entering Year 2 of an honours program in science, physical geography, mathematics or computing and computer electronics.

Preference will be given to female candidates; recipients must display leadership abilities; be in good academic standing; and strong consideration will be given to candidates with positive evidence of leadership and contributions to university or community life.

Endowed scholarship; established by the Sims family to encourage young women to continue their studies in science and mathematics.

The Wen-Hsuan Wang Scholarship

This endowed scholarship was established by a generous donation by Elizabeth Wang in memory of her father, Wen-Hsuan Wang (1888-1965), a lieutenant general in the army of the Republic of China; the recipient will be entering the third year of a Mathematics program at Laurier and will have achieved the highest GPA in a minimum of 2.5 credits in senior mathematics courses taken in the previous academic year (two consecutive terms) while also having achieved an overall minimum GPA of 9.00 (B+) in a minimum of 5.0 credits taken during the same academic period.

Dr. David C. Vaughan Memorial Scholarships in Mathematics

Dr. David C. Vaughan was a vital member of the Laurier community and left a strong impression on his colleagues and students. He joined Laurier in 1988 after spending eight years as a lecturer at Okanagan College in Kelowna, BC. A heavily involved faculty member over his 27 years at Laurier, Vaughan served as chair of the Mathematics department from 2000-06 and 2009-11, and as an associate dean in the Faculty of Science from 2008-09 and 2011-14. Well-respected as a researcher and teacher, Vaughan was passionate about strengthening math education at all academic levels. As a professor at Laurier, he taught a wide range of courses at the undergraduate and graduate levels, making a lasting impact on thousands of students over the course of his career. To honour Dr. Vaughan's memory, the Department of Mathematics and the Faculty of Science has established this memorial scholarship in his name.

Eligible candidates are full-time undergraduate students entering Years 3, 4, or 5 of any honours program in Mathematics or Financial Mathematics (including double-degree and double-major programs) who have a minimum cumulative GPA of 9.0 (B+).