Skip to main content

Seminar Series

The Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry at Laurier supports a series of seminars in the areas of chemistry, biochemistry, biophysics and environmental sciences. The main emphasis of this seminar series is on the interdisciplinary nature of science. The chemistry seminar series has become essential for advancing and enriching the research culture in the Faculty of Science in general and the Department of Chemistry in particular.

All graduate and undergraduate students (including those enrolled in CH490) are encouraged to attend the seminar series and enhance their conceptual understanding of science and sense of inquiry. As well, the seminars are intended to promote scientific interaction among the students, faculty and members of the scientific community by observing science in a broader interrelated context.

2022/23 Schedule

Seminars run on Friday afternoons between 3:30-5 p.m.  If no seminar title appears, it is to be announced.  Seminars are either In-Person (IP) or remote via ZOOM

If remote, access through MyLS:  Chemistry and Biochemistry Seminar Series   OR

If you are outside of the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, please link to: https://wilfrid-laurier.zoom.us/j/97148599374

Fall Term

  • Friday, Sept. 23: Professor Elmar Prenner,  Biochemistry, Calgary University [ZOOM]
    • Title of seminar:  Negative impact of vaping additives on biomimetic lung surfactant models
  • Friday, Sept. 30Graduate Student Pizza Lunch in BA404 (No seminar)
    • Title of seminar: N/A
  • Friday, Oct. 7:  Graduate student presentations [IP]
  • Friday, Oct. 21:  Professor Chris Caputo, Chemistry, York University [IP]
    • Title of seminar:  Illuminating Lewis Acidity Through Fluorescence and Reactivity
  • Friday, Nov. 4: Professor Marcus Drover, Chemistry, Windsor University [IP]
    • Title of Seminar
  • Friday, Nov. 11:  Professor Udo Schwingenschlögl, Physics, Augsburg University, Germany [ZOOM]  
    • Title of seminar: 
  • Friday, Nov. 18: Associate Professor Huck Grover, Chemistry, Memorial University [IP]
    • Title of Seminar: 
  • Friday, Nov. 25: Professor David Kwan, Synthetic Biology, Concordia University [IP]
    • Title of Seminar
  • Friday, Dec. 2:  Graduate student presentations [IP]

Winter Term will be update by November.

Winter Term

  • Friday, Jan. 20: Professor Hashim Ali, Chemistry and Physics Department, Arkansas State University [Virtual] 
    • Title of seminar:  
  • Friday, Jan. 27:   
    • Title of seminar: 
  • Friday, Feb. 10:  Graduate student presentations [IP]
  • Friday, Mar. 3:   
    • Title of seminar: 
  • Friday, Mar. 10:   
    • Title of seminar:  
  • Friday, Mar. 17:   
    • Title of seminar: 
  • Friday, Mar. 24:  
    • Title of seminar:  
  • Friday, Mar. 31:   
    • Title of seminar: 
  • Friday, Apr. 7:   
    • Title of seminar: 
    •