Skip to main content

Convocation Ceremonies

Congrats! You've finished your academic career at Laurier but it's not the end – you're going to be part of our alumni family.

Though in-person convocation ceremonies have been postponed, your degrees/diplomas will be conferred in absentia by Laurier Chancellor Eileen Mercier on Nov. 2.

 If you've planned to graduate, make sure you check your mylaurier email (including your junk folder) for updates.

Read on to see a few more things we need you to do.

Celebrate Your Success

We've posted some suggestions on how you can celebrate your Laurier achievements of the past few years virtually.

 Your task: Check out the Get Ready. Set. Celebrate! page between now and Nov. 2 for celebratory content, music, recipes and more. 

Becoming a Graduate

Your degrees/diplomas will officially be conferred by Laurier Chancellor Eileen Mercier on Nov. 2, 2021. On this day, you'll officially graduate!

Your accomplishments will be celebrated in a video message sent to your mylaurier email mid-day. Your name will be displayed and announced so that you have a special moment to be recognized. (Have your camera and some tissues ready).

 Your task: Use the link sent to your mylaurier email on Sept. 20 to provide your name pronunciation no later than Oct. 4.

Getting Your Degree/Diploma

We know that you're excited to receive your degree/diploma. You can either pick up your degree/diploma at the Brantford or Waterloo campus or have it sent by courier. 

To pick up your degree/diploma, you must book an appointment. This option is only available if public health guidelines allow. Once confirmed, we will send you an email with detailed instructions. If public health does not allow in-person pickup, we will ship your degree to your address in LORIS as of Oct. 12 at 11:55 p.m. ET. 

 Your task: Use the link sent on October 5 to to book your appointment no later than Oct. 12.

To have your degree/diploma couriered, make sure your address and phone number are current in LORIS. We will be using the address that is in LORIS effective October 12 at 11:55 p.m. ET. Degrees/diplomas can be couriered internationally; we are unable to deliver to P.O. Boxes.

 Your task: Confirm if you are collecting your degree/diploma and make sure your address is up to date by Oct. 12 at 11:55 p.m. ET. To confirm your address in LORIS, go to "Personal Information View," then "View Address(es) and Phone(s)."

If you have questions, email us at

Honorary Degree Recipients

Honorary degrees are awarded honoris causa, “for the sake of honour,” and recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions locally, nationally and globally.